Do's and Don'ts in Divorce in Colorado - Marrison Family Law

The largest firm dedicated to family law in Colorado Springs.

Call for a Legal Consultation: (719) 577-9292

Do's and Don'ts in Divorce in Colorado

Monday, 16 June 2008

This article briefly highlights in an easy to read "Do's and Don'ts" format some important factors in Colorado divorce cases. 

Do's and Don'ts in Divorce

By Theodore Watson

DO be reasonable and cooperate as much as possible with your soon-to-be-ex.  Reasonable compromise yields quicker and easier results in divorce cases.

DO support your children through the divorce process.  It's even tougher on them than on you. Don't make them pick sides.

DO during the divorce process, let your spouse know when and where you will spend time with your kids while you work out permanent custody arrangements.  Your spouse might think you've made a run for the border -- and if your soon-to-be-ex has to ask the police to track you down, that won't look good during custody or visitation hearings.

DO during the divorce process, fully disclose all your assets and property.  A court can throw out a divorce decree based on financial deception, putting you back in court years after you thought everything was final.

DO during your divorce, ask your attorney if anything doesn't make sense.  Your attorney works for you, and should help you understand every part of the divorce process.


DON'T   make big plans to take a job in another state during the divorce process or move out of the country until your divorce is final.  Your new life could interfere with getting your divorce finalized.

DON'T violate any temporary custody or visitation arrangements during the divorce process.  It could make it tougher for you to get the custody or visitation rights you prefer. DON'T "give away" property to friends or relatives and arrange to get it back later.  Hiding property can mean your spouse can take you back to court to settle those assets.

DON'T go it alone.  Divorce is complicated, and an attorney can make sure that your interests are protected.



Any  person that has lived in Colorado for at least 90 days immediately prior to starting a divorce. You can start a divorce even though you live in another state if your spouse lives in Colorado and you are willing to submit to Colorado jurisdiction.


Colorado is a  "no fault" divorce state. The Court does not care why someone wants a divorce, only that the marriage is irretrievably broken. Fault is not to be considered as a factor for dividing the property and determining financial issues and support. When children are involved, a parent's behavior which affects the children may be considered in determining parental responsibility arrangements.


Assuming that you have already consulted with a Colorado divorce attorney, you first start the divorce process by having your divorce attorney file a  "Petition and Summons" are filed by one spouse or his or her attorneys, or both parties can file jointly. If the spouses do not file jointly, notice must be given to the other spouse. This is called "service of process." A sheriff or process server will deliver the papers to a party who is not willing to accept papers and sign a special "waiver of service" form.


A divorce court in Colorado will not grant a divorce decree before  90 days after completion of "service" before they can be divorced. As a practical matter, it usually takes longer. If both parties agree to everything that must be

Article Source:


Read 9613 times

MPatMarrisonFor over a quarter century, we have helped people during what is often the darkest time in their lives. Divorce is not easy even under the best of circumstances. For most people, family is central. Having something go wrong in the family can have a ripple effect that extends beyond the home and into other areas.

All articles

Military Discounts

Request a Consultation


Invalid Input
Invalid Input - enter phone number using the following format xxx-xxx-xxxx
Invalid Input
Invalid Input
Invalid Input

Connect With Us