Print this page

Colorado Domestic Violence Attorney – What You Need to Know

Monday, 02 May 2011

blog-logoIf you have been accused of a domestic violence crime in Colorado, it is important to know how the difference between this crime and other offenses that may seem similar.  As any domestic violence attorney will tell you; this is a crime that you will want to avoid at all costs.  Defined as a crime against a person with whom one has an existing intimate relationship, domestic violence is broadly defined and carries much harsher penalties than most people realize. 

Here are some facts about domestic violence laws in Colorado, as compiled by a Colorado domestic violence attorney. 

  1. In Colorado, a crime of domestic violence is an act or threatened act of violence against someone with whom a person has an intimate relationship.  It can include a variety of different motives and criminal acts, including revenge, coercion, control, intimidation and punishment, and it can include damage to the victim’s personal property.
  2. With any charge of domestic violence in Colorado, officers are required to arrest the suspect, provided they have probable cause.  In addition, the person who is arrested will not be given a bail bond until the victim has the opportunity to be heard in a bond hearing.
  3. Even if the person who reported a crime of domestic violence no longer wishes to press charges, the state can still pursue it, and the DA will make the final decision about whether the case moves forward in court. 
  4. A Colorado domestic violence attorney can explain how the Colorado constitution defines the victim’s rights in a domestic violence case, as these will be at the forefront of any domestic violence hearing.
  5. Habitual domestic violence offenders are people who have previously been convicted of three other acts of domestic violence.  In the case of these criminals, a misdemeanor crime would be bumped up to a Class 5 felony.
  6.  According to federal law, anyone convicted of a domestic violence crime will not be allowed to possess a firearm for the rest of their life.
  7. Most domestic violence offenders are required to attend a state-sponsored treatment program that is administered by the Colorado Domestic Violence Management Treatment Board.  A domestic violence attorney can provide more details about specific cases, but the time spent in one of these facilities can range from 36 hours for low level misdemeanors up to 36 weeks for serious or habitual offenders.
  8. A person who is convicted of a domestic violence crime and sentenced to prison will not be eligible for in-home detention and electronic monitoring in the home of the victim.

To learn more about how these crimes are handled differently in the state of Colorado, schedule a consultation with a domestic violence attorney at the Marrison Family Law LLC.

Read 4298 times